Dhruv Goyal in Semi-Final

Top Seeds sail into Quarter-Finals
November 20, 2012
Chandril faces Twin Brother Lakshit for Title
November 22, 2012

CLTA, Chandigarh, Wednesday, November 21, 2012.                Qualifier Dhruv Goyal made another upset by defeating 4th seed Sagar Manjana of Karnataka in Men’s singles quarter-finals. Dhruv Goyal won 1st set in tie breaker. Sagar came strongly in the 2nd set by taking it at 6-0. Final set went on serve till 4 all. Dhruv got a break in 9th game and held his serve at 5-4 and won the match.

2nd seed Brahmjot Singh faced some resistance in 1st set against Yuvraj Singh. Brahmjot won 1st set in Tie Breaker. In 2nd set Brahmjot used his experience to win set and match at 6-3. Top seed Chandril Sood defeated 5th seed Sagar Ahuja 7-5, 6-1 and 3rd seed Lakshit Sood defeated 8th seed Anubhav Chaudhari 6-2, 6-4.


In the Women’s quarter-finals top seed Shweta Rana was extended by 5th seed Victoria Chehal. Shweta took 1st set 7-6. Victoria rallied to win 2nd set 6-4. In the final set Shweta used her experience to close out the match at 6-0.


Unseeded Megha Sherawat took the 1st set 7-6 against Sayali Bhilare. Sayali won next 2 sets 6-3, 6-2. Seed 4 Vineeta Singh defeated 8th seed Varuna Chander Shekhar 1-6, 6-4, 7-5. 2nd seed Manya Nagpal moved to Semi-Finals with a straight set win over Nithyaraj Baburaj 6-2, 6-3.


Semi Finals of Men’s and Women’s will be played from 9:00 a.m. in CLTA courts.

Results of Quarter Final matches are as below:-


Main Draw Quarter Round Results

Men’s Singles


  1. Chandril Sood bt. Sagar Ahuja 7-5, 6-1
  2. Dhruv Goyal bt. Sagar Manjana 7-6, 0-6, 6-4
  3. Lakshit Sood bt. Anubhav Chaudhari 6-2, 6-4
  4. Brahmjot Singh bt. Yuvraj Singh 7-6 (0), 6-3


Women’s Singles


  1. Shweta Rana bt. Victoria Chehal 7-6(5), 4-6, 6-0
  2. Sayali Bhilare bt. Megha Sherawat 6-7 (3), 6-3, 6-2
  3. Vineeta Singh bt. Varuna Chander Shekhar 1-6, 6-4, 7-5
  4. Manya Nagpal bt. Nithyaraj Baburaj 6-2, 6-3





Men’s Doubles


  1. Lakshit Sood/Chandril Sood bt. Vinod Shridhar/Shiva Kumar 6-1, 6-1
  2. Shadab Khan/Anubhav Chaudhary bt. Ravneet Singh Saini/Sunil Kumar 4-6, 6-3, 11-9
  3. Pardeep Deshwal/Rohit Sarwate bt. Vikrant Dahiya/Shrey Gupta 4-6, 6-4, 10-8.




Women’s Doubles matches are in progress.



Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA),

Tennis Stadium, Opposite DAV College,

Sector-10-C, Chandigarh-160 011

P. No. 0172-2740543, 2741849-(O)

for more updates please visit CLTA’s Website: www.clta.in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *