Rishabh, Prinkle, Paramveer, Param Pun, Bhavya in Finals

CLTA, Chandigarh, Thursday,  December 6, 2012.                                             Local lads had a good run in St. Stephen’s School AITA Championship Series tournament. Rishabh Sharda defeated Sahishnu Sharma 6-1, 6-1 to enter finals and will face top seed Sacchit Sharma who defeated Amit Beniwal in three setter 6-2, 6-7, 6-1.


Top seed Prinkle Singh defeated Delhi girl Chetna Kumari 6-1, 6-3 and will face Sarah Dev in the finals.


Paramveer Bajwa after losing 1st set 4-6 came strong and won against Vikas Singh. He will face Param Pun who upset 2nd seed Shrey Gupta. Param Pun lost the 1st set 4-6 and was down 3-5 in the 2nd set. From there he rallied and won next four games to win the set at 7-5. In the final set Param Pun raised his level and took advantage of Shrey Gupta’s unforced errors to win the final set 6-2.

Girls U-16 top seed Bhavya Wadhawan dominated her power play and defeated Simranjeet Kaur 6-1, 6-0. In another semi-final 2nd seed Nandini Sharma played solid game to  outplay Aarushi Kakkar 6-2, 6-1.

Shrey Gupta and Vikrant Dahiya won the Doubles U-16 Boys title by defeating Vikas Berwal and Rohit Kumar 4-2, 4-2.

Prinkle Singh and Aarushi Kakkar defeated Bani Singh and Simranjeet Kaur 1-4, 4-2, 7-5.

Doubles U-12 Boys title was taken by Himanshu Mor and Amit Beniwal. They defeated M.S. Karthik and Asav Kumar 4-1, 4-1.

All the singles finals will be held at CLTA courts at 9:00 a.m. tomorrow.


Results are as below:-


Boys U-12 Singles Semi-Final Round

  1. Sacchit Sharma bt. Amit Beniwal 6-2, 6-7 (6), 6-1
  2. Rishabh Sharda bt. Sahishnu Sharma 6-1, 6-1

Girls U-12 Singles Semi-Final Round

  1. Prinkle Singh bt. Chetna Kumari 6-1, 6-3
  2. Sarah Dev bt. Shreya Gulia 6-2, 6-4

Boys U-16 Singles Semi-Final Round

  1. Paramveer Bajwa bt. Vikas Singh 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
  2. Param Pun bt. Shrey Gupta 4-6, 7-5, 6-2

Girls U-16 Singles Semi-Final Round

  1. Bhawya Wadhawan bt. Simranjeet Kaur 6-1, 6-0
  2. Nandini Sharma bt. Aarushi Kakkar 6-2, 6-1

Boys U-12 Doubles Final Round

  1. Himanshu Mor/Amit Beniwal bt. M.S. Karthik/Asav Kumar 4-1, 4-1

Boys U-16 Doubles Final Round

  1. Shrey Gupta/Vikrant Dahiya bt. Rahul Seth/Eklavya Singh 1-4, 5-3, 7-5
  2. Vikas Berwal/Rohit Kumar bt. Vikas Singh/Sumit Pal Singh 3-5, 4-2, 8-6

Girls U-16 Doubles Final Round

  1. Prinkle Singh/Aarushi Kakkar bt. Bani Singh/Simarjeet Kaur 1-4, 4-2, 7-5



Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA),

Tennis Stadium, Opposite DAV College,

Sector-10-C, Chandigarh-160 011

P. No. 0172-2740543, 2741849-(O)

For more updates, please visit CLTA’s Website: www.clta.in