Top Seeds Prinkle, Paramveer and Bhavya move to Semi-Finals

CLTA, Chandigarh, Wednesday,  December 5, 2012.                                          Top seed Prinkle Singh defeated Taru Ahluwalia 4-2, 4-1 to reach Semi-Finals of Girls U-12 Singles. Bhavya Wadhawan beat Bani Singh in straight sets 6-3, 6-1 to reach Semi-Finals of Girls u-16 Singles.

Rohit Kumar and Vikas Berwal in Finals

2nd seed  Nandini Sharma after losing two match points in second set at 5-4 and then again two match points at 6-5. Her opponent Harsimran Kaur managed to win second set in tie breaker. In the final set Nandini was trailing 0-3, came back strongly to lead 5-3. Then she conceded one game and won the final set at 6-4.






In the Boys U-16 top seed Paramveer Bajwa faced some resistance from Nihit Rawal losing the fist set 6-7. Paramveer came back strongly to win next 2 sets 6-1, 6-1.

Vikas Singh after being down two set points against Vikrant Dahiya rallied to win the set 7-5 and the 2nd set he won 6-4. 2nd seed Shrey Gupta faced resistance in the first set against Sumit Pal Singh. Shrey after losing the first set 4-6 managed to win next two 6-3, 6-3. Shrey will face Param Pun in the semi-finals who defeated Mritunjay Badola 7-6, 6-2.

In the Boys U-12 top seed Sacchit Sharma defeated Abhimanyu Rozra 4-1, 4-0. Rishabh Sharda defeated M.S. Karthik 5-4, 4-1. Rishabh will meet Sahishnu Sharma who defeated Himanshu Mor in decider tie breaker 7-3.

In the Doubles U-16 Final Vikas Berwal and Rohit Kumar will play Shrey Gupta and Vikrant Dahiya. Both finalysts had tough semi-final matches and managed to win in decider tie breaker.

In the Girls U-16 Doubles match Bani Singh and Simarjeet Kaur had a tough decider tie breaker win. They will play against Prinkle Singh and Aarushi Kakkar in the final.

In the Boys U-12 Doubles M.S. Karthik and Asav Kumar are against Himashu More and Amit Beniwal.

All the semi-finals will be held at CLTA from 9:00 a.m. onwards and all the doubles finals will be held at CLTA at 12:00 noon.



All the other results are as below:-


Boys U-12 Singles Quarters-Final Round

  1. Sacchit Sharma bt. Abhimanyu Rozra 4-1, 4-0
  2. Amit Beniwal bt. Yuvraj Singh 4-0, 4-5
  3. Sahishnu Sharma bt. Himanshu Mor 4-2, 2-4, 7-3
  4. Rishabh Sharda bt. M.S. Karthik 5-4 (4), 4-1

Girls U-12 Singles Quarters-Final Round

  1. Prinkle Singh bt. Taru Ahluwalia 4-2, 4-1
  2. Chetna Kumari bt. Simran Pritam 4-0, 5-4 (3)
  3. Shreya Gulia bt. Harleen Kaur 4-0, 4-2
  4. Sarah Dev bt. Alisha Menon 4-0, 4-0

Boys U-16 Singles Quarters-Final Round

  1. Paramveer Bajwa bt. Nihit Rawal 6-7 (5), 6-1, 6-1
  2. Vikas Singh bt. Vikrant Dahiya 7-5, 6-4
  3. Param Pun bt. Mritunjay Badola 7-6 (3), 6-2
  4. Shrey Gupta bt. Sumitpal Singh 4-6, 6-3, 6-3

Girls U-16 Singles Quarters-Final Round

  1. Bhawya Wadhawan bt. Bani Singh 6-3, 6-1
  2. Simranjeet Kaur bt. Prinkle Singh 7-5, 6-2
  3. Aarushi Kakkar bt. Nimrat Walia 6-1, 6-2
  4. Nandini Sharma bt. Harsimran Kaur 6-3, 7-6 (4), 6-4

Boys U-12 Doubles Semi-Final Round

  1. M.S. Karthik/Asav Kumar bt. Siddharth/Divesh 4-1, 4-0
  2. Himanshu Mor/Amit Beniwal bt. Chiraj Singh/Yuvraj Singh 4-2, 5-3

Boys U-16 Doubles Semi-Final Round

  1. Shrey Gupta/Vikrant Dahiya bt. Rahul Seth/Eklavya Singh 1-4, 5-3, 7-5
  2. Vikas Berwal/Rohit Kumar bt. Vikas Singh/Sumit Pal Singh 3-5, 4-2, 8-6

Girls U-16 Doubles Semi-Final Round

  1. Bani Singh/Simarjeet Kaur bt. Bhawya Wadhwan/Gayatri Kumariah 4-2, 0-4, 7-5
  2. Prinkle Singh/Aarushi Kakkar bt. Charvi Saxena/Saumya Saxena 4-0, 4-2



Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA),

Tennis Stadium, Opposite DAV College,

Sector-10-C, Chandigarh-160 011

P. No. 0172-2740543, 2741849-(O)

For more updates, please visit CLTA’s Website: