Top Seeds Siddhant Banthia and Mehak Jain enter Quarters

Prinkle Singh upset 7th seed Adeshina
January 3, 2017
Siddhant Banthia, Dhruv Sunish, Mehak Jain and Rhea Verma move into Semis
January 5, 2017

Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association
ITF Juniors Circuit Tennis Tournament
from January 2 to 7, 2017

Top Seeds Siddhant Banthia and Mehak Jain enter Quarters


CLTA, Chandigarh, January 04, 2017              – In the boys pre quarter finals top seed Siddhant Banthia of India defeated Nikit Reddy of USA in an easy match by conceding only one game 6-0, 6-1. Dhruv Sunish of India defeated Grant Freddie of Great Britain in straight sets 6-4, 6-2. 8th seed Mulada Tonkla of Thiland, 3rd seed Jack Draper (GBR), Savin Roko of Croatia, Fomin Sergey of Uzbekistan, Sacchitt Sharma of India and 5th seed Tashbulatov of Kazakhstan also moved into quarters.

In the girls pre quarters top seed Mehak Jain of India defeated Aesha Patel of USA in an easy match without conceding a single game 6-0, 6-0. In another match Tanisha Kashyap defeated Prinkle Singh of CLTA. In the 1st set Tanisha was serving for the set and had two set points. Prinkle saved those set points and made it 6-6. In the tie break Prinkle was leading 5-2, after that Tanisha came back strongly and closed the 1st set 7-6(5). In the 2nd set both players held their serve and made it 4-4. In the 9th game Tanisha broke Prinkle’s serve and was serving for the match. Finally Tanisha closed the 2nd set and match 6-4. Shivani Amineni of India upset 5th seed Kuan Yi Lee in straight sets 6-1, 6-3. Other players who moved into quarters are Akanksha Bhan of India, Axana Mareen (BEL), Thasaporn Naklo (THA), Rhea Verma (IND), Vedehi Chaudhary (IND).

In the boys doubles CLTA players Calvin Golmei and Rishabh Sharda enter semi finals. In the quarter finals Calvin and Rishabh defeated Freddie Grant and Roko Savin in a three setter match 4-6, 7-5, 10-5. Uisung Park / Hua-Chen Yu, Vasisht Cheruku / Jack Draper and Siddhant Banthia / Parikshit Somani also moved into semis.

In the girls doubles Shivani Amineni and Vaidehi Chaudhary upset 2nd seed Mehak Jain and Victoria in straight sets 6-3, 6-3. Other players who moved into doubles semis are Harsha Sai Challa / Sabhyata Nihalani, Kuan Yi Lee / Mananchaya Sawangkaew and Adehhina Esther / Heath Gamma.

Matches of boys and girls will be played tomorrow from 9:30 a.m. onwards at CLTA Tennis Stadium.


Results are as below:-


Boys Singles Pre Quarters

  1. Siddhant Banthia (IND) [1] bt. Nikit Reddy (USA) 6-0, 6-1
  2. Jack Draper (GBR) [3] bt. Vasisht Cheruku (IND) 6-3, 6-2
  3. Dhruv Sunish (IND) bt. Freddie Grant (GBR) 6-4, 6-2
  4. Sergey Fomin (UZB) bt. Parikshit Somani (IND) [6] 5-7, 6-2, 6-4
  5. Dostanbek Tashbulatov (KAZ) [5] bt. Alex Solanki (IND) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2
  6. Tonkla Mulada (THA) bt.Abhimanyu Vannemreddy (IND) 3-6, 6-4, 6-4
  7. Roko Savin (CRO) bt. Arthur Craig Pantino (PHI) 6-2, 6-4
  8. Sacchitt Sharma (IND) bt. Siddharth Thakran (IND) 6-3, 5-7, 6-2

Girls Singles Pre Quarters

  1. Tanisha Kashyap (IND) bt. Prinkle Singh (IND) 7-6(6), 6-4
  2. Akanksha Bhan (IND) [6] bt. Gemma Heath (GBR) 6-3, 6-2
  3. Axana Mareen (BEL) [4] bt. Shivani Manjanna (IND) 6-0, 6-0
  4. Thasaporn Naklo (THA) [3] bt. Victoria Kalaitzis (BEL) 6-2, 6-3
  5. Shivani Amineni (IND) bt. Kuan Yi Lee (TPE) [5] 6-1, 6-3
  6. Rhea Verma (IND) bt.Mananchaya Sawangkaew (THA) 6-1, 7-6(4)
  7. Mahak Jain (IND) [1] bt. Aesha Patel (USA) 6-0, 6-0
  8. Vaidehi Chaudhari (IND) bt. Sabhyata Nihalani (IND) 6-4, 6-3

Boys Doubles Quarters

  1. Uisung Park / Hua-Chen Yu [1] bt. Megh Bhargav Patel / Alex Solanki 6-1, 7-5
  2. Calvin Golmei/Rishabh Sharda bt. Freddie Grant/Roko Savin 4-6, 7-5, 10-5
  3. Vasisht Cheruku / Jack Draper bt. Sergey Fomin / Dostanbek Tashbulatov [4] 3-6, 6-1, 12-10
  4. Siddhant Banthia / Parikshit Somani [2] bt. Bollipalli Ritik/Machera 6-2, 6-2

Girls Doubles Quarters

  1. Harsha Sai Challa / Sabhyata Nihalani bt. Thasaporn Naklo / Mihika Yadav [1] 6-2, 0-6, 10-6
  2. Kuan Yi Lee / Mananchaya Sawangkaew [4] bt. Ebrhim Aaliya / Patel Aesha 6-2, 6-2
  3. Adehhina Esther / Heath Gamma bt. [3]Karim Janova / Mareen Axana7-5, 6-2
  4. Shivani Amineni / Vaidehi Chaudhary bt. Mahak Jain / Victoria Kalaitzis [2] 6-3, 6-3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *