V M Ranjeet clinches men’s title

 “The Tribune”

CLTA-AITA Championship Series (CS-7) and

State Championships Rs.3 Lakhs for Men & Women

Tennis Tournaments
from 17th to 21st October-2016


V M Ranjeet clinches men’s title


CLTA, Chandigarh, October 21, 2016                In the men’s singles final top seed V M Ranjeet won men’s singles title. V M Ranjeet was leading 3-2 in the 1st set. 2nd seed Dalwinder Singh suffered an injury and conceded the match.

In the women’s singles final Samriti Punyani defeated Neeru Rapriya in straight sets 6-4, 7-5.

In the men’s doubles final 3rd seed Ishaque Eqbal and Saurav Sukul upset top seed Ranjeet Singh of Chandigarh and Vilasier Khate in straight sets 6-2, 6-1.

In the women’s doubles final top seed Himani Mor and Dakshita Patel defeated Samriti Punyani and Anjali Thakur 6-4, 6-3.

In boys U-16 final CHART trainee Naresh Badgujar upset another CHART trainee top seed Shashikant Rajput in a three setter marathon match. In the 1st set Naresh lost 2-6. In the 2nd set Naresh fought back and took a 5-2 lead. In the 8th game Naresh was serving for the set but Shashikant broke his serve and made it 3-5. Naresh closed the 2nd set 6-3. In the final set both players held their serve and made it 5-5. In the 11th game Naresh broke Shashikant’s serve and was serving for the match. Finally Naresh closed the set and match 7-5.

In the girls U-16 final 2nd seed Princy Panchal of CHART defeated her practice parner Srishti Dhir of CLTA in straight sets 6-4, 6-2.

In the boys and girls doubles finals Krishan Hood and Bhupender Dahiya defeated Yuvraj Singh Kooka and Bhavesh Aggarwal 4-6, 6-3, 10-4 and A. Batth and Sana Khaan defeated Srishti Dhir and Simran Pritam 3-6, 6-3, 10-6 in a three setter match.

Sh. Rajan Kashyap, Founder and Patron in Chief, CLTA, Sh. Jai Singh Gill, President, CLTA, Mrs. Bhupender Banta Singh, Member Executive, CLTA and Ms. Dimple Singh, Head Marketing- Govt. Sales, The Tribune Trust distributed the prizes to the winners and runners up of both events.

Mens Singles Final

  • Ranjeet Virali Murugesan (TN) [1] bt. Dalwinder Singh (PB) [2] 3-2 Ret.

Womens Singles Final

  • Samriti Punyani (DL) [2] bt. Neeru Rapria (HR) [4] 6-4 7-5

Men’s Doubles Final

  • Ishaque Eqbal (WB) [3] / Saurav Sukul (WB) bt. Vilasier Khate (HR) / Ranjeet Singh (CH) [1] 6-2 6-1

Women’s Doubles Final

  • Himani Mor (HR) / Dakshata Girishkumar Patel (MH) [1] bt. Smriti Punyani / Anjali Thakur 6-4 6-3

Girls U-16 Semi Final

  • Princy Panchal bt. Srishti Dhir 6-4 6-2

Boys U-16 Semi Final

  • Naresh Badgujar bt. Shashikant Rajput 2-6 6-3 7-5

Boys U-16 Doubles Final

Bhupender Dahiya/ Krishan Hooda bt. Yuvraj Kooka / Bhavesh Aggarwal 4-6 6-3 [10-4]

Girls U-16 Doubles Final

A. Batth/ Sana Khanna bt.  Simran Pritam / Srishti Dhir 3-6 6-3 [10-6]