Sanam Singh and Yuki move into quarters

CLTA’s Junior in second round
February 14, 2017
Yuki proves his dominance
February 16, 2017

ITF Men’s Futures US$-15,000 Tennis Tournament

February-2017 at CLTA, Chandigarh

Sanam Singh and Yuki move into quarters

CLTA, Chandigarh, February 15, 2017               In the ITF Men’s Futures singles 2nd round former Davis Cupper Sanam Singh defeated Niki Poonacha in an easy match 6-2, 6-2. Davis Cupper and top seed of this tournament Yuki Bhambri defeated Aryan Goveas in straight sets 6-3, 6-3. Another Davis Cupper 3rd seed Vishnu Vardhan and 4th seed Sasi Mukund also moved into quarter finals. Vishnu Vardhan defeated Shabaaz Khan in a tough competition three setter match. Vishnu won the 1st set 6-4. In the 2nd set Shabaaz Khan came back strongly and took the 2nd set in tie break 6-7(5). In the final set both players played high quality tennis and finally Vishnu Vardhan used his experience to close the set and match 6-4. 7th seed Sidharth Rawat of India won from Vignesh Peranamallur in a three setter close match 7-5, 3-6, 6-2.

Other players who moved into quarters are Hadin Bawa, Sidharth Vishwakarma and 2nd seed N. Sriram Balaji.

In the doubles quarter finals Mateusz Terczynski (Pol) / Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin (Esp) upset top seed N.Sriram Balaji (Ind) / Vishnu Vardhan (Ind) in a close match 7-5 3-6 [10-6]. 2nd seed N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth (Ind) / Sanam Singh (Ind) defeated Ishaque Eqbal (Ind) / Anurag Nenwani (Ind) in straight sets 6-4 6-1. Pirmin Haenle (Ger) / Shane Vinsant (Usa) and Adil Kalyanpur (Ind) / Sasi Kumar Mukund (Ind) also moved into semi finals.

Singles quarter final matches will be played tomorrow from 10:00 a.m. onwards at CLTA Tennis Stadium.


Results are as follows:-

Main Draw Singles 2nd Round

  1. Yuki Bhambri (Ind) [1] bt. Aryan Goveas (Ind) 6-3 6-3
  2. Sanam Singh (Ind) bt. Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (Ind) 6-2 6-2
  3. Vishnu Vardhan (Ind) [3] bt. Shahbaaz Khan (Ind) 6-4 6-7(5) 6-4
  4. Sidharth Rawat (Ind) [7] bt. Vignesh Peranamallur (Ind) 7-5 3-6 6-2
  5. Haadin Bava (Ind) bt. Shane Vinsant (Usa) 6-2 6-4
  6. Sasi Kumar Mukund (Ind) [4] bt. Jui-Chen Hung (Tpe) 6-3 6-4
  7. Siddharth Vishwakarma (Ind) bt. Dhruv Sunish (Ind) 6-3 3-6 6-3
  8. N.Sriram Balaji (Ind) [2] bt. Rishabh Sharda (Ind) 6-3 6-3

Main Draw Doubles Quarters

  1. Mateusz Terczynski (Pol) / Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin (Esp) Bt. N.Sriram Balaji (Ind) / Vishnu Vardhan (Ind) [1] 7-5 3-6 [10-6]
  2. Pirmin Haenle (Ger) / Shane Vinsant (Usa) Bt. Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (Ind) / Vinayak Sharma Kaza (Ind) [4] 6-4 2-6 [10-4]
  3. Adil Kalyanpur (Ind) / Sasi Kumar Mukund (Ind) Bt. Haadin Bava (Ind) / Shahbaaz Khan (Ind) 7-6(4) 3-6 [10-6]
  4. N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth (Ind) / Sanam Singh (Ind) [2] Bt. Ishaque Eqbal (Ind) / Anurag Nenwani (Ind) 6-4 6-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *